Press Release Issued by: Texas Tornado Boot Camp

MotoGP Star Colin Edwards and Team TTBC Head South of the Border for the 46th Annual 2013 SCORE Baja 1000
With his last Boot Camp of the year now in the books and with only one round left to go on the 2013 MotoGP racing schedule, NGM Mobile Forward Racing Team rider, Colin Edwards II, prepares himself and his Team Texas Tornado Boot Camp for the upcoming 46th annual SCORE Baja 1000– set for November 14th-17th.

 For going on two decades, the GP superstar and his personal friend and Boot Camp Director, Mike Myers, have long dreamed of racing this most prodigious event.  A race that is notorious for claiming even the most accomplished two-wheel racing athletes, the 1000 will surely have a few tricks in store for the duo and accompanying team.  For the two, it’s the element of the unknown that elicits the draw.

Boot Camp Director, Mike Myers, had this to say:

“When we ran out of stories around the fire at the Boot Camp, I knew it was time for a new adventure.  So I said, let’s start with something small like the 1000.  Thanks to Colin and the team for helping get this project off the ground.  Here’s to finishing the race in style.”

As SCORE-International President and CEO, Roger Norman has stated, “the race for this year is… the toughest loop race ever… and it’s also the longest.”  According to the race-sectioning body, SCORE-International, this year’s event is one of the longest loop races in the history of the 1000, thanks to the efforts of SCORE and the Mexican Government.  This year the course has increased in distance, close to 900 miles from previous years.

Also, to deal with past safety issues, SCORE has adopted a new format.   This year, motorcycles will start a full-day in advance to the trophy trucks.   For the first-time ever, “Pro-Class motos” will be qualifying for starting position; this includes Edwards’ teamTTBC in the Pro-Class 21.   Scheduled to start on the 14th at 11PM in downtown Ensenada, this event is projected to draw close to 250,000 race fans into the streets.

In just a few days’ time, with the backing of YAMAHA Motor Corporation U.S.A. and additional sponsors, the “Boot Camp Six” will be hitting the Mexican trail and officially “pre-running” the mapped 2013 race-course. 

Guiding Edwards’ & team on their pre-run will be Team Race For The Wounded, a grass-roots non-profit organization comprised of former United States military veterans.  Their mission— aiding wounded U.S. combat vets through extreme off-road competition.

Completing this challenging race is Team TTBC’s ultimate goal.  Appropriately, Colin II, the famed Texas Tornado, will be picking up the last-leg of the 1000 and leading Team TTBC to the finish line.

Along with his rag-tag bunch of Texas, soon the Tornado will be storming through the Baja Peninsula – Edwards, Myers, Prussiano, Bodak, Scherb, and Fouchek each representing the Texas Tornado Boot Camp.

“Really looking forward to the six of us, all of the instructors of the Boot Camp on this adventure.  We’ve been talking about this race for years and years, and it’s finally coming true.  All of the preparation and hard work, especially on Mike’s side of things.  All of the long hours he’s put in, logistically, to put this thing together while I’ve been away traveling and racing all year.  Looking forward to finally getting there and doing it.  We did five hundred miles on our pre-run last month but I won’t see my section until I go racing.  Really, I’m just so looking forward to stop talking about it and let’s go racing!”  – Colin Edwards II

Team TTBC would like to thank the following sponsors:

YAMAHA MOTOR CORPORATION U.S.A., Fly Racing, Western Powersports, Clearwater Lights, Bridgestone Tires, Arai, LeoVince USA, USWE, Pro Taper, GPR Stabilizer, Race For The Wounded, SIDI, Trail Tech, Motul North America, Satellite Phone Store, Highway Dirtbike, Precision Concepts, SPY Optic, MX1 West, Speed Graphics, Wolfman, Dr. Benkle, John Tran & Mark Mullen.


TTBC Baja Race Crew:

Jean Michel Gaston, Bradi Teal, Nick Dunn, Charlie Thompson, John Bell, Henrik Larsen, Beau Nillson, Gabriel Perez, Mark Mullen & Matt Rogers.

About Author - danielleteal

No Comments

Sorry comments are closed for this Post.